Mosko Moto’s Pinner Tool Roll: My Initial Impressions

The Pinner Tool Roll is the second piece of gear I’ve recently purchased from Mosko Moto. It’s the slimmer little brother to the very popular Fatty Tool Roll, with many of the Fatty’s awesome features, just in a more compact set up.

Since getting the Pinner in mid-December, it’s been my tool roll of choice and I’ve been carrying it on every ride. Here are my initial impressions.

1. It Carries More Than You Think. When I got the Pinner, I was a bit surprised by its small size. So small in fact that I started thinking I should have gone with the Fatty to hold all my tools.

But when I started loading it, I quickly realized that the Pinner just eats tools up. Mine carries a full set of Allen keys, 2 vice grips, wire cutters, needle nose and standard pliers, a screw driver with attachments, and a wrench set with sockets that will fit my bike’s bolts (a Honda Rally, if you’re interested). Even with all those tools, there’s still room for a few extras, like JB Weld, some zip ties, and a few tire irons. That’s a lot in a small package; certainly more than enough to get you out of a jam.

2. Nothing Beats the Pinner’s Internal Compartments. Inside the Pinner, there’s 8 tool slots, 2 zippered compartments, 2 tire iron holders, and a mesh pocket. The design is great. Each pocket has a tool-specific purpose and the tools fit in perfectly!

3. I Love the External Dry Bag. Conditions the past few weeks have been wet and muddy and the Pinner’s external dry bag has come in quite handy. It has protected my tools from the elements, leaving them nice and dry at the end of every ride.

4. The Pinner’s Compatibility with the Reckless 10 Makes Attaching the Roll to the Bike Easy-Peasy. Everybody knows that attaching a tool roll to an enduro style bike can be tricky, as room isn’t to plentiful. And while the Pinner fits on the front fender (a place that the Fatty and some other rolls are just too large for), I love using the Beaver Tail attachment on the top of my Reckless 10. As I talked about in a recent blog, it is now my go to spot for my Pinner. It fits perfectly, out of the way and not so big that I can’t stash a light jacket under it on cooler days. That’s a win in my book, especially when I’m trying to travel light and slimmed down.

5. It’s Easy to Work Out Of. Although I haven’t needed to open the Pinner up yet while riding, I have used it a lot while installing new accessories on the bike. I’ve found it easy and convenient to work out of, with no holdups and no lost tools. That’ll bodes well if I ever have to break it out for emergency bike repairs.

As with the Reckless 10, lots more to come on this as I get more miles on it. Thanks for reading. See you on the trails!

We’ve moved! Check out all Mickey Spades’ gear reviews on our new site.

3 Comments Add yours

Leave a comment